Posted by: wordofthevine | March 24, 2014

Fourteen Principles of Spiritual Growth:

Venerable Concepción Cabrera, a wife, a mother and a mystic, who lived in Mexico during the Mexican Revolution, formulated fourteen principals of spiritual growth called “The Chain of Love.” Jesus tutored her how to cultivate the contemplative life in the world by intentional effort in the spiritual life. The Chain is a trajectory of progress, a journey into the Cross personally. Prior to reading this post, you may appreciate downloading a copy of the Chain of Love from

Father Luis Ruiz Vazques, M.Sp.S. in his review of the Chain of Love in O1380449_10200730437448314_225844702_nblations of Christ and Priestly Dimensions of Baptism in Concepción Cabrera, says Concepción shows us this battle through the Chain of Love takes dynamism and intensity. The Cross will come and we want to leave nothing in our lives unaddressed or offered to the Father. This sense of dynamism means that we have “to scrutinize the Cross and probe it’s depths” by discovering it as a living force in our experiences. The Cross is not simple a platitude but something that we live. We have to be intense Christians to hold nothing back from Christ or in making our lives a living offering for others, including those who hurt us. The Chain of Love shows us how to be purposely intense and rightly ordered in the spiritual life.

Through baptism and the grace of Jesus, we are wired, according to Fr. Reginald Garrigou-Lagrange, O. P. in Three Ages of the Interior Life, to “manfully do battle, to struggle against the withering effects of original sin” by accepting and struggling with our crosses. The fourteen rules of Venerable Concepción show us how to formulate a plan of battle, for other people’s salvation depend on our faithfulness to the mission of Christ that hits us in the face! ~Mary


[i] Garrigou-Lagrange, Reginald, Fr., The Three ages of the Interior Life, Volume One, Tan Books, Rockford, Ill, 1947, p.xi.

[ii] Garrigou-Lagrange, Reginald, Fr., The Three ages of the Interior Life, Volume One, Tan Books, Rockford, Ill, 1947, p.289,290.


  1. Thanks Mary….I’m reading, slowly, “The 3 Stages of Internal Life”….along with “Last Things”. (May not have the titles exactly right.) Very helpful. We are Blessed to have so many “go to” people, for every Life change, problems,Joys, in our Church! And even though some are hundreds of years old, they still apply & enrich our faith.
    Pax Christi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: